Second Draft

blank sheet in a typewriter

About to start the second draft of my very first novel. I am taking until January to spend some time needed away from the novel before I start the process of perfecting it. Do any writers have advice for me that they wish someone had told them when they were working on the second draft of their first novel? We’ve done a lot of drafts of short stories in class, but a novel is much different.

Obviously I want to cut down about 30,000 words, which I am not worried about, but there is also a lot i want to add while keeping a good dialogue/narrative balance. Just to keep the “hot hand” of writing, I am continuing to work on my Pia and Juniper novellas as I work on the second draft. Only 250 words a day, but that is enough to stay sharp.

Thanks!

One thought on “Second Draft

  1. Thank you for liking my post. Good luck on your second draft – finishing the first is the hardest part, so congratulations on that! I don’t have any advice, aside from what you’ve probably already been taught, just polish, polish, polish and polish some more. Then edit it again. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

